The ICSI National Awards for Excellence in Corporate Governance for 2009 were presented at a  function at Mumbai on the December 19, 2009 to :



        Maruti Suzuki India Limited          &           NTPC Limited



Mr. Shinzo Nakanishi, Managing Director and CEO received the Award on behalf of Maruti Suzuki India Limited and Mr. R S Sharma, Chairman and Managing Director received the Award on behalf of NTPC Limited.


Mr. S Ravi Aiyar, Company Secretary, Maruti Suzuki India Limited and Mr. A K Rastogi, Company Secretary, NTPC Limited were also awarded in recognition of their commitment to ensure good corporate governance.


ICSI Life Time Achievement Award for Translating Excellence in Corporate Governance into Reality was conferred upon:


Ms. Anu Aga, former Chairperson, Thermax Group


The awards were presented at the gracious hands of  Vilasrao Deshmukh, Hon’ble Union Minister for Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises in the presence of Hon’ble Justice Shri R C Lahoti, Chairman, Jury and Former Chief Justice of India, who was the Guest of Honour. Members of Jury, captains of industry, large number of distinguished professionals, members and students of the Institute were also present.