

THE INSTITUTE OF Company Secretaries of India

Statutory body under an Act of Parliament

April 5, 2013

## **Chief of Business Bureau**

## **PRESS RELEASE**

Indian Oil Corporation Limited and HCL Technologies Limited, Two BEST GOVERNED COMPANIES were presented the "ICSI National Award for Excellence in Corporate Governance 2012" by Chairman of Jury and Former Chief Justice of India Hon'ble Mr. Justice M. N. Venkatachaliah at Hotel The Ashok, New Delhi today (5.4.2013).



Shri R. S. Butola, Chairman, Indian Oil Corporation Limited and Shri Anil Chanana, CFO, HCL Technologies Limited received the Awards.

ICSI Lifetime Achievement Award was conferred on Mr. Deepak S Parekh, Chairman, Housing Development Finance Corporation Ltd. for Translating Excellence in Corporate Governance into Reality.



Ms. Madhumita Ganguli, Member, Executive Management of HDFC received the Award on behalf of Mr. Deepak S Parekh, Chairman, Housing Development Finance Corporation Ltd.

The Institute of Company Secretaries of India (ICSI), in continuance of its commitment to good corporate governance, bestows the ICSI National Award for Excellence in Corporate Governance every year to the Best-Governed Companies in India. For the Twelfth consecutive year, ICSI presented these Awards for promoting Good Governance amongst Indian Corporates, on FRIDAY, the 5<sup>th</sup> April, 2012 at Hotel The Ashok, New Delhi.



On the Dias (From Left to Right): CS M. S. Sahoo, Secretary, the ICSI, Mr. Chris Pierce, CEO, Global Governance Services Ltd., CS S. N. Ananthasubramanian, President, Council of the ICSI, Hon'ble Mr. Justice M. N. Venkatachaliah, Former Chief Justice of India, CS Harish K. Vaid, Vice- President, Council of the ICSI, CS Nesar Ahmad, Immediate Past President, Council of the ICSI, CS Sutanu Sinha, Chief Executive, The ICSI

## ICSI National Award for Excellence in Corporate Governance 2012

Chairman of Jury and Former Chief Justice of India Hon'ble Mr. Justice M. N. Venkatachaliah presented the ICSI National Award for Excellence in Corporate Governance 2012 to BEST GOVERNED COMPANIES, "Indian Oil Corporation Limited" and "HCL Technologies Limited" at Hotel The Ashok, New Delhi, on 5th April, 2013.

Shri R. S. Butola, Chairman, Indian Oil Corporation Limited and Shri Anil Chanana, CFO, HCL Technologies Limited received the Awards.

The Company Secretaries of awardee companies, Shri Raju Ranganathan, Company Secretary, Indian Oil Corporation Limited & Shri Manish Anand, Company Secretary, HCL Technologies Limited were also honoured for their contribution in adhering to good corporate governance practices.

## ICSI Life Time Achievement Award for the year 2012

Hon'ble Mr. Justice M. N. Venkatachaliah also presented to Mr. Deepak S Parekh, Chairman, Housing Development Finance Corporation Ltd. the Life Time Achievement Award for Translating Excellence in Corporate Governance into Reality.

Certificate of recognition presented to Top Five Companies (In Alphabetical order) Certificate of Recognition were presented to:

- 1. CMC Limited
- 2. Engineers India Limited
- 3. ONGC Limited
- 4. Persistent Systems Ltd.
- 5. Powergrid Corporation of India Limited

**CS S.N. Anathasubramanian**, *President*, **Council of the ICSI** delivered the Welcome address. **Hon'ble Mr. Justice M. N. Venkatachaliah**, **Chairman**, **Jury & Former Chief Justice of India** conferred his knowledge and expertise on the dais. **CS Harish K. Vaid**, **Vice-President**, **Council of the ICSI** delivered the Keynote address.

The Institute's publication **Shareholder Activism & Every Drop Counts** was also released on the occasion. **CS Sutanu Sinha, Chief Executive, the ICSI** delivered the Vote of Thanks.

(Dr. Amita Ahuja) Senior Director (Public Relations & Corporate Communication) The Institute of Company Secretaries of India ICSI House, 22 Institutional Area Lodi Road, New Delhi- 110 003 Telefax- 011 -24604756, Mob- 9717196255 Email: <u>dprpp1@icsi.edu</u>